The First of Many

Welcome to my very first blog!

During the next several weeks, I will have the privilege to work in the Patrick County Extension Office and gain significant amounts of knowledge in the field of extension. Leigh Ann Hazelwood (4-H Youth Development Agent) is my adviser, but I will also be doing work with the other agents in the office as well.

My first week, I hit the ground running as the office intern. I was immediately instructed to head straight to Stuart Elementary School on my first day to help Leigh Ann set up materials for sewing. We spent the next two days at Stuart Elementary as well. We set up a “reality store” to show the kids a little about how life and money works. On Tuesday and Wednesday, we implemented a dinner etiquette lesson where we taught the kids table manners and social manners. This was all new to me because I have never worked alongside youth before. I was very happy to do this because it gives me experience in this field and now I feel more comfortable to do it in the future. Thursday and Friday were a little more slow as we were in the office all day. We spent both days getting ready for 4-H camp which is just around the corner. I learned this week that Extension is a very thrilling but busy field to work in. You never do the same thing each day, so you never have to worry about getting bored.

I am very excited to be getting the opportunity to work alongside these great agents for the next ten weeks. I will gain knowledge of many fields and will gain professional skills that will greatly help me in my future endeavors.

Leave a comment